Working together through continuous learning to improve the quality of life for all in DeKalb County, Indiana
An education initiative of the Community Foundation of DeKalb County

Our Early Childhood Team

Sarah Anderson YMCA DeKalb County
Deb Argast DeKalb County community
Barbara Bushnell DeKalb County community
Rebecca Carothers Early Childhood Education, Ivy Tech Northeast
Sherry Crisp-Ridge Director, DeKalb Central Preschool
Connie Fullerton TLC Preschool
Wayne Funk Garrett-Keyser-Butler School Board
Alyssa Hale Bowen Center
Sherry Hanchar JAM Center
Amber Hartsough TLC Preschool
Jonell Malcolm Garrett Keyser Butler Head Start and Early Head Start
Lanissa Maggert Early Childhood Alliance
Maria Manuel-Slone Children First Center
Karen Rice Garrett-Keyser-Butler Head Start and Early Head Start
Martha Savage Before 5
Jena Shipley Bowen Center
Sarah Speer Early Learning initiative, United Way DeKalb County
Alyce Thompson Early Childhood Alliance
Linda Vandemark St. Mark’s Preschool
Julie Wagoner DeKalb Health
Tonya Weaver Garrett-Keyser-Butler School District


The work of each Learning Link action team is to:

  • create evaluation tools for measuring progress;
  • collect specific baseline data against which to measure progress;
  • work together to ensure clear communication between and among the action teams, the steering committee and the community at large;
  • work to facilitate communication between and among the community’s sectors, organizations and entities; and
  • perform these duties while always objectively considering what is best for the overall vision of the community rather than the interests of any one segment of the community.